My First Hacktoberfest, Open-source contribution, Pull request(merged)

My First Hacktoberfest, Open-source contribution, Pull request(merged)

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Table of contents

-Introduction
-Why I started open-source with Hacktoberfest?
-My first Hacktoberfest, open-source contribution and pull-request
-Finding the issue
-Working on the issue
-Pull request
-Learnings from my first Hacktoberfest
-Conclusion

Introduction

Everyone knows about Hacktoberfest for a long time except me and my surroundings. I saw the post about Hacktoberfest 2021, but at that time, I think If I want to participate in this, I need to know everything and I also did not have a laptop. Open-source contributions have been associated for a long time with developers. And contributors are increasing in Hacktoberfest. I do not want to miss Hacktoberfest 2022. So, this article will highlight my first Hacktoberfest, Open-source contribution, and Pull request that is merged.

Why I started open-source with Hacktoberfest?

Firstly, I know about open source from Kunal Bhai. As I said before, I think before contributing to Open-source, I need to learn then I will start contributing. As I get to know about Hacktoberfest 2022, I understand you can't able to finish your learnings. So, I started following the Learn by doing concept. I did not have any profiles. I created a GitHub profile and registered to Hacktoberfest 2022. Hacktoberfest is October month-long celebration for developers and to complete Hacktoberfest you need to merge at least four pull requests. Hacktoberfest allows and supports beginners to contribute to open-source.

My first Hacktoberfest, open-source contribution and pull-request

Finding the issue

Finding Issue (1).jpg

I started my open-source journey with this first pull request that is merged. At first, I mistakenly created my own pull request which is wrong. I came across the project and I saw the issues section. The issue is to update a readme file. At that time, I did not know how to write a readme file. I searched for it on Google, and I go through this article. Then I commented on the issue, even I am new to the contribution, the maintainer assigned it to me that shows how supportive the community is.

Working on the issue

As you know, my issue is to improve the readme file. The Readme file is the first point of contact for any open-source project. It contains essential information about the project. It should be simple and brief, it can able to explain what the project is. It includes information about the project, tech stack, project website, and a link to the contributing file for interested contributors. And you have to use your own creativity to show plus points.
This is the Readme file, that I have to improve.

[The clarity is not good,actually, I take a video of the issue,now I kept screenshots from the video]
image.png

After improving

image.png I added images, screenshots, project website, and aligned the information of the project.

Pull request

After improving the Readme file, At first, I was unable to create the pull request. Then I created a pull request. And the pull request is merged. This is my first pull request merged.
And I completed Hacktoberfest 2022 by contributing to open-source projects. All project maintainers are too supportive to assign the task and discuss the work. The open-source journey continuing

image.png

Learnings from my first Hacktoberfest

  • The open-source community is always supportive no matter whether you are a new or old contributor.
  • Learn new things by contributing to projects.
  • know about Non-code contributions from Hacktoberfest.
  • Hacktoberfest is to start your open-source, and you need to continue the flow.
  • Conclusion

    In this article, I highlight my first open-source contribution, Hacktoberfest, and pull request. Thank you Kunal bhai for introducing open-source to all of us. Now, I am sharing with my friends what I know about it. I hope you like my first experience of Hacktoberfest. And also this is my first article on hashnode and community classroom.